Compare · 2 products compared
DJI Osmo Pocket 4vsDJI Osmo Pocket 3: What Changed
Both cameras pair a 1-inch sensor with a 3-axis gimbal and a 2-inch rotating screen, so neither is the wrong pick for everyday handheld video. The Pocket 3 keeps HDR recording and a lower price. The Pocket 4 brings faster 4K slow motion, more photo resolution and built-in storage.
eBay prices refresh hourly — check the listing before you buy. We may earn a commission.
- MOST WINS
DJIBest for Action and sports shooters who need 240fps 4K slow motion
8of 13 specs better
DJIBest for Budget buyers who want HDR video in a lighter pocket camera
5of 13 specs better
+ Add a product to compare
Biggest differences
Max frame rate at 4K
DJI Osmo Pocket 4 leads
4×
higher is better
- DJI Osmo Pocket 4240 fps
- DJI Osmo Pocket 360 fps
Max photo resolution
DJI Osmo Pocket 4 leads
3.94×
higher is better
- DJI Osmo Pocket 437 MP
- DJI Osmo Pocket 39.4 MP
Claimed max recording time
DJI Osmo Pocket 4 leads
+45%
higher is better
- DJI Osmo Pocket 4240 min
- DJI Osmo Pocket 3166 min
Rear screen brightness
DJI Osmo Pocket 4 leads
+43%
higher is better
- DJI Osmo Pocket 41,000 nits
- DJI Osmo Pocket 3700 nits
Features not all of them have
HDR video
- DJI Osmo Pocket 4✕
- DJI Osmo Pocket 3✓
Where each one wins
DJI Osmo Pocket 4
- Max frame rate at 4K
- Max video bitrate
- Max photo resolution
- Rear screen brightness
- Battery capacity
- Claimed max recording time
- Built-in storage
- Wi-Fi standard
DJI Osmo Pocket 3
- Launch price
- HDR video
- Weight
- Width
- Height
What both have
- Sensor size1 in
- Aperture2 f
- Max video resolution4K
- Max frame rate240 fps
- Color bit depth10-bit
- Log profile✓
- Time-lapse modesTime-lapse, hyperlapse
- Max digital zoom4 x
- RAW photos✓
- Image stabilizationIn-camera
- Rear screen size2 in
- Front screen size0 in
- Rear touchscreen✓
- Depth33.5 mm
- Waterproof depth0 m
- Min operating temperature0 °C
- Max operating temperature40 °C
- Memory card slot✓
- Max memory card size1,024 GB
- Live streaming resolution1080p
- External microphoneBuilt-in
Every spec
Red marks the better value in each row.
| Spec | DJI Osmo Pocket 4 | DJI Osmo Pocket 3 |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Release date | 2026-04 | Not published |
| Launch price | 560 USD | 519 USD1 |
| Sensor & lens | ||
| Sensor size | 1 in | 1 in |
| Aperture | 2 f | 2 f |
| Field of view | 94 °2 | Not published |
| Video | ||
| Max video resolution | 4K | 4K |
| Max frame rate at 4K | 240 fps3 | 60 fps |
| Max frame rate | 240 fps4 | 240 fps |
| Max video bitrate | 180 Mbps | 130 Mbps |
| Video codecs | HEVC | H.264, HEVC |
| Color bit depth | 10-bit | 10-bit |
| Log profile | Yes | Yes |
| HDR video | No5 | Yes |
| Time-lapse modes | Time-lapse, hyperlapse | Time-lapse, hyperlapse6 |
| Pre-recording | No7 | Not published |
| Max digital zoom | 4 x | 4 x |
| Photo | ||
| Max photo resolution | 37 MP | 9.4 MP |
| RAW photos | Yes | Yes |
| Stabilization | ||
| Image stabilization | In-camera | In-camera |
| Horizon lock | No8 | Not published |
| Screens | ||
| Rear screen size | 2 in | 2 in |
| Front screen size | 0 in9 | 0 in10 |
| Rear screen brightness | 1,000 nits | 700 nits |
| Rear touchscreen | Yes | Yes |
| Front touchscreen | No11 | No12 |
| Body & durability | ||
| Weight | 190.5 g | 179 g |
| Width | 44.4 mm | 42.2 mm |
| Height | 144.2 mm | 139.7 mm |
| Depth | 33.5 mm | 33.5 mm |
| Waterproof depth | 0 m13 | 0 m |
| Waterproof depth with case | 0 m14 | Not published |
| Min operating temperature | 0 °C | 0 °C |
| Max operating temperature | 40 °C | 40 °C |
| Battery | ||
| Battery capacity | 1,545 mAh | 1,300 mAh |
| Claimed max recording time | 240 min15 | 166 min |
| Removable battery | No16 | No |
| Claimed recording time at 4K | 0 min17 | Not published |
| Storage | ||
| Built-in storage | 107 GB | 0 GB |
| Memory card slot | Yes | Yes |
| Max memory card size | 1,024 GB | 1,024 GB |
| Connectivity | ||
| GPS | None18 | Not published |
| Wi-Fi standard | Wi-Fi 6 | Wi-Fi 5 |
| Live streaming resolution | 1080p | 1080p |
| Audio | ||
| External microphone | Built-in19 | Built-in |
Notes on 19 values — test conditions and caveats
- 1DJI Osmo Pocket 3, Launch price: Launch-era basic-kit price per PCMag (Oct 2023); DJI's store now lists the base unit at USD $439.
- 2DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Field of view: Derived from the 20 mm-equivalent lens: ~94° diagonal field of view.
- 3DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Max frame rate at 4K: 240fps at 4K is only available in slow motion, not in normal video mode.
- 4DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Max frame rate: Highest continuous slow-motion frame rate is 240fps; a 480fps figure is claimed but unconfirmed.
- 5DJI Osmo Pocket 4, HDR video: The spec table lists no HLG or HDR10 video mode; HDR recording is not stated.
- 6DJI Osmo Pocket 3, Time-lapse modes: DJI's modes: Timelapse (fixed camera), Hyperlapse and Motionlapse (gimbal waypoint moves); no night-lapse listed.
- 7DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Pre-recording: No pre-record or hind-sight buffer mode is listed.
- 8DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Horizon lock: No horizon-lock or horizon-levelling mode is stated; the roll axis is limited to ±45°.
- 9DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Front screen size: No dedicated front-facing screen is listed; the single screen rotates.
- 10DJI Osmo Pocket 3, Front screen size: No dedicated front screen; the single 2-inch rotatable touchscreen also serves selfie use.
- 11DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Front touchscreen: There is no dedicated front-facing screen, so no front touchscreen.
- 12DJI Osmo Pocket 3, Front touchscreen: No dedicated front screen, so there is no front touchscreen.
- 13DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Waterproof depth: No waterproof rating is stated for the bare camera; it is not submersible.
- 14DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Waterproof depth with case: DJI lists no waterproof housing for this camera, so there is no housing depth rating.
- 15DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Claimed max recording time: The 240-minute figure is at 1080p/24fps with Wi-Fi and screen off.
- 16DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Removable battery: The battery is internal LiPo; DJI does not state it is user-swappable.
- 17DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Claimed recording time at 4K: No 4K recording-time figure is stated; the only claimed runtime is 1080p/24fps.
- 18DJI Osmo Pocket 4, GPS: No GPS or GNSS receiver is listed in the spec table.
- 19DJI Osmo Pocket 4, External microphone: DJI Mic transmitters pair directly with the camera; no adapter is required.
Video
The Pocket 4 shoots 240fps in 4K, but only as slow motion — normal video tops out lower. For anyone filming action, sports or pets, that headroom is the difference between a usable slow-mo shot and a soft crop from 1080p.
The Pocket 4 also pushes 180 Mbps versus 130 Mbps, which holds up better when you push shadows and highlights in editing. The trade is HDR: the Pocket 3 records HDR, the Pocket 4 does not. If you shoot backlit scenes or want footage that grades itself, the older camera is the one with the range.
Photo and zoom
The Pocket 4 captures 37MP stills against 9.4MP on the Pocket 3 — roughly four times the pixels. For travel shots you plan to crop or print, that is a real upgrade. Both shoot RAW, so editing latitude is unchanged; the Pixel count is what moves.
Digital zoom is capped at 4x on both. Pair a 4x crop with a 9.4MP file and you are working with a low-resolution image. The extra sensor resolution on the Pocket 4 makes that same crop much more forgiving.
Battery and size
The Pocket 4 claims 240 minutes of recording against 166 on the Pocket 3, but that figure only holds at 1080p/24fps with Wi-Fi and the screen off. Real 4K shooting will drain both faster, and DJI states no 4K runtime for either.
The battery capacity advantage — 1,545 mAh against 1,300 mAh — is the more meaningful number. The new camera is heavier and taller, and the Pocket 3 is the easier one to slip into a pocket. Neither battery is user-swappable.
Storage and connectivity
The Pocket 4 ships with 107GB of onboard storage; the Pocket 3 has none. That means you can shoot before buying a card, which matters if you want to try the camera out of the box.
Wi-Fi 6 on the Pocket 4 makes offloading clips noticeably faster on a modern router. Both take cards up to 1,024GB, so the onboard memory is a convenience rather than a capacity ceiling.
Which is best for sports and slow motion?
The Pocket 4, clearly. 240fps at 4K is the standout figure on this page and neither camera offers more at the other's resolution. If your footage is skateboarding, cycling or kids running, the extra frames are the whole reason to upgrade.
Neither camera locks the horizon, and neither is waterproof without a housing. For water sports or cliff-edge stabilisation, plan on extra gear regardless of which body you pick.
The Verdict
Buy the DJI Osmo Pocket 4 if you want 4K slow motion, high-resolution stills or built-in storage, and you do not need HDR. Buy the DJI Osmo Pocket 3 if HDR video or a lighter, cheaper body matters more than frame-rate headroom.
Where to buy
DJI Osmo Pocket 4
Best for Action and sports shooters who need 240fps 4K slow motion
DJI Osmo Pocket 3
Best for Budget buyers who want HDR video in a lighter pocket camera
FAQ
Does the DJI Osmo Pocket 4 have HDR video?
No. DJI lists no HLG or HDR10 mode for the Pocket 4, while the Pocket 3 does record HDR. If HDR matters to you, the older model is the one to buy.
Is the DJI Osmo Pocket 4 battery removable?
No. The battery is an internal LiPo cell and DJI does not state it is user-swappable. That is also true of the Pocket 3, so neither camera lets you carry a spare.
How much storage does the DJI Osmo Pocket 4 have built in?
107GB. The Pocket 3 has no built-in storage and relies entirely on a memory card. Both accept cards up to 1,024GB.
Can the DJI Osmo Pocket 4 shoot 4K at 240fps in normal mode?
No. That frame rate is only available in slow motion, not in normal video recording. Treat it as a slow-motion capability rather than a standard shooting mode.
Is either camera waterproof?
No. Neither has a stated waterproof rating, and DJI lists no waterproof housing for the Pocket 4. The Pocket 3 does not publish a housing depth rating either.
Spotted something wrong? Tap the next to any section or spec group to let us know. Every report is read.





