Compare · 2 products compared
DJI Osmo Pocket 4vsDJI Osmo Action 5 Pro: Which to Buy
Both are small DJI cameras that shoot stabilized 4K in 10-bit with a log profile, and both cap slow motion at 240fps. The Pocket 4 is a gimbal-style creator camera with a bigger sensor and a brighter screen; the Action 5 Pro is a waterproof action cam you can submerge, swap batteries in, and carry in the cold. Those two facts decide most purchases.
eBay prices refresh hourly — check the listing before you buy. We may earn a commission.
DJIBest for Low-light and indoor creators who want the best image and don't need waterproofing
8of 27 specs better- MOST WINS
DJIBest for Action, water and cold-weather shooters who need durability, a front screen and spare batteries
19of 27 specs better
+ Add a product to compare
Biggest differences
Max frame rate at 4K
DJI Osmo Pocket 4 leads
2×
higher is better
- DJI Osmo Pocket 4240 fps
- DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro120 fps
Height
DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro leads
3.26×
lower is better
- DJI Osmo Pocket 4144.2 mm
- DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro44.2 mm
Launch price
DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro leads
−38%
lower is better
- DJI Osmo Pocket 4560 USD
- DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro349 USD
Built-in storage
DJI Osmo Pocket 4 leads
2.28×
higher is better
- DJI Osmo Pocket 4107 GB
- DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro47 GB
Features not all of them have
Horizon lock
- DJI Osmo Pocket 4✕
- DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro✓
HDR video
- DJI Osmo Pocket 4✕
- DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro✓
Pre-recording
- DJI Osmo Pocket 4✕
- DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro✓
Front touchscreen
- DJI Osmo Pocket 4✕
- DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro✓
Removable battery
- DJI Osmo Pocket 4✕
- DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro✓
Where each one wins
DJI Osmo Pocket 4
- Sensor size
- Aperture
- Max frame rate at 4K
- Max video bitrate
- Max digital zoom
- Rear screen brightness
- Width
- Built-in storage
DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro
- Launch price
- Field of view
- HDR video
- Pre-recording
- Max photo resolution
- Horizon lock
- Rear screen size
- Front screen size
- Front touchscreen
- Weight
- Height
- Depth
- Waterproof depth
- Waterproof depth with case
- Min operating temperature
- Max operating temperature
- Battery capacity
- Removable battery
- GPS
What both have
- Max video resolution4K
- Max frame rate240 fps
- Video codecsHEVC
- Color bit depth10-bit
- Log profile✓
- Time-lapse modesTime-lapse, hyperlapse
- RAW photos✓
- Image stabilizationIn-camera
- Rear touchscreen✓
- Claimed max recording time240 min
- Memory card slot✓
- Max memory card size1,024 GB
- Wi-Fi standardWi-Fi 6
- External microphoneBuilt-in
Every spec
Red marks the better value in each row.
| Spec | DJI Osmo Pocket 4 | DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Release date | 2026-04 | 2024-09 |
| Launch price | 560 USD | 349 USD1 |
| Sensor & lens | ||
| Sensor size | 1 in | 0.77 in |
| Aperture | 2 f | 2.8 f |
| Field of view | 94 °2 | 155 ° |
| Video | ||
| Max video resolution | 4K | 4K |
| Max frame rate at 4K | 240 fps3 | 120 fps |
| Max frame rate | 240 fps4 | 240 fps |
| Max video bitrate | 180 Mbps | 120 Mbps |
| Video codecs | HEVC | HEVC |
| Color bit depth | 10-bit | 10-bit5 |
| Log profile | Yes | Yes |
| HDR video | No6 | Yes7 |
| Time-lapse modes | Time-lapse, hyperlapse | Time-lapse, hyperlapse |
| Pre-recording | No8 | Yes |
| Max digital zoom | 4 x | 2 x |
| Photo | ||
| Max photo resolution | 37 MP | 40 MP |
| RAW photos | Yes | Yes |
| Stabilization | ||
| Image stabilization | In-camera | In-camera |
| Horizon lock | No9 | Yes10 |
| Screens | ||
| Rear screen size | 2 in | 2.5 in |
| Front screen size | 0 in11 | 1.46 in |
| Rear screen brightness | 1,000 nits | 800 nits |
| Rear touchscreen | Yes | Yes |
| Front touchscreen | No12 | Yes |
| Body & durability | ||
| Weight | 190.5 g | 146 g |
| Width | 44.4 mm | 70.5 mm |
| Height | 144.2 mm | 44.2 mm |
| Depth | 33.5 mm | 32.8 mm |
| Waterproof depth | 0 m13 | 20 m |
| Waterproof depth with case | 0 m14 | 60 m |
| Min operating temperature | 0 °C | -20 °C |
| Max operating temperature | 40 °C | 45 °C |
| Battery | ||
| Battery capacity | 1,545 mAh | 1,950 mAh |
| Claimed max recording time | 240 min15 | 240 min16 |
| Removable battery | No17 | Yes |
| Claimed recording time at 4K | 0 min18 | Not published |
| Storage | ||
| Built-in storage | 107 GB | 47 GB |
| Memory card slot | Yes | Yes |
| Max memory card size | 1,024 GB | 1,024 GB |
| Connectivity | ||
| GPS | None19 | Accessory20 |
| Wi-Fi standard | Wi-Fi 6 | Wi-Fi 6 |
| Live streaming resolution | 1080p | Not published |
| Audio | ||
| External microphone | Built-in21 | Built-in22 |
Notes on 22 values — test conditions and caveats
- 1DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro, Launch price: Launch price of the Standard Combo, the cheapest kit; DJI did not sell the camera alone at launch.
- 2DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Field of view: Derived from the 20 mm-equivalent lens: ~94° diagonal field of view.
- 3DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Max frame rate at 4K: 240fps at 4K is only available in slow motion, not in normal video mode.
- 4DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Max frame rate: Highest continuous slow-motion frame rate is 240fps; a 480fps figure is claimed but unconfirmed.
- 5DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro, Color bit depth: 10-bit is not available in SuperNight mode, which records in 8-bit.
- 6DJI Osmo Pocket 4, HDR video: The spec table lists no HLG or HDR10 video mode; HDR recording is not stated.
- 7DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro, HDR video: HDR video is recorded through the HLG colour profile.
- 8DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Pre-recording: No pre-record or hind-sight buffer mode is listed.
- 9DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Horizon lock: No horizon-lock or horizon-levelling mode is stated; the roll axis is limited to ±45°.
- 10DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro, Horizon lock: HorizonSteady works only at 1080p or 2.7K (16:9) at 60 fps or lower.
- 11DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Front screen size: No dedicated front-facing screen is listed; the single screen rotates.
- 12DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Front touchscreen: There is no dedicated front-facing screen, so no front touchscreen.
- 13DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Waterproof depth: No waterproof rating is stated for the bare camera; it is not submersible.
- 14DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Waterproof depth with case: DJI lists no waterproof housing for this camera, so there is no housing depth rating.
- 15DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Claimed max recording time: The 240-minute figure is at 1080p/24fps with Wi-Fi and screen off.
- 16DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro, Claimed max recording time: Maker's lab figure: 1080p/24fps with RockSteady on, Wi-Fi off and screen off, at 25 °C.
- 17DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Removable battery: The battery is internal LiPo; DJI does not state it is user-swappable.
- 18DJI Osmo Pocket 4, Claimed recording time at 4K: No 4K recording-time figure is stated; the only claimed runtime is 1080p/24fps.
- 19DJI Osmo Pocket 4, GPS: No GPS or GNSS receiver is listed in the spec table.
- 20DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro, GPS: GPS data needs the Osmo Action GPS Bluetooth Remote Controller, sold separately.
- 21DJI Osmo Pocket 4, External microphone: DJI Mic transmitters pair directly with the camera; no adapter is required.
- 22DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro, External microphone: Pairs directly with a DJI Mic 2 transmitter over Bluetooth; wired mics need a USB-C to 3.5mm cable.
Image quality and lens
The Pocket 4's 1-inch sensor and f/2 aperture gather more light than the Action 5 Pro's 0.77-inch sensor at f/2.8. In dim rooms, at dusk, or indoors without lights, that means cleaner footage and more room to push exposure in editing. It also records at a higher bitrate, 180 Mbps against 120 Mbps, which preserves more detail in busy scenes like foliage or crowds.
The Action 5 Pro counters with a 155° field of view. That is a genuinely wide, action-cam look that fits a handlebar, a helmet, or a whole room into frame; the Pocket 4's roughly 94° is closer to a normal lens. If framing yourself at arm's length matters more than low-light quality, the wider lens is the reason to pick the Action 5 Pro.
Video and slow motion
Both shoot 4K, but the Pocket 4 reaches 240fps at that resolution while the Action 5 Pro stops at 120fps. For anyone who wants dramatic slow motion without dropping resolution, that is a real advantage — though on the Pocket 4 the 240fps 4K mode only works in slow motion, not as a normal recording mode.
The Action 5 Pro has two video features the Pocket 4 lacks outright. It records HDR through the HLG profile, useful for high-contrast daylight scenes, and it offers pre-recording, which continuously buffers footage so you capture the seconds before you press the button. Wildlife and sports shooters tend to value that buffer more than an extra frame rate.
Screens and framing yourself
The Action 5 Pro has two screens: a 2.5-inch rear panel and a 1.46-inch front one, both touch-enabled. Vloggers can see themselves while recording without an add-on. The Pocket 4 has a single 2-inch rotating screen with no front display, so self-framing means rotating that screen to face you.
The Pocket 4's screen is brighter, 1,000 nits against 800, which helps outdoors in direct sun. That is a comfort win, not a capability win. For anyone recording themselves regularly, the Action 5 Pro's second screen is the more useful setup.
Battery, storage and handling
The Action 5 Pro uses a removable 1,950 mAh battery, so a spare extends a shoot indefinitely. The Pocket 4's battery is internal at 1,545 mAh, which means you recharge rather than swap. DJI claims the same 240 minutes for both, but the Pocket 4 figure is a 1080p/24fps best case and no 4K runtime is published for it at all.
The Pocket 4 ships with 107 GB of built-in storage; the Action 5 Pro has 47 GB. Both take a card up to 1,024 GB, so the gap only matters if you shoot before buying a card. The Action 5 Pro is lighter at 146 g and shorter, but the Pocket 4 is narrower, which suits a pocket or a small bag.
Which is better for sports and water?
The Action 5 Pro, clearly. It is waterproof to 20 m bare and 60 m in DJI's case, operates down to -20 °C, and has horizon lock, so the image stays level while the camera rolls and tilts. The Pocket 4 has no stated waterproof rating, no housing depth rating, no horizon lock, and a floor of 0 °C. It is not a camera you take surfing or skiing.
Horizon lock on the Action 5 Pro is limited to 1080p or 2.7K at 60fps or lower, so you trade resolution for a level horizon. That is still a trade no Pocket 4 owner can make at all.
The Verdict
Buy the DJI Osmo Pocket 4 if image quality in low light, a bigger sensor and 240fps 4K slow motion matter more than ruggedness — it suits indoor, studio and travel creators. Buy the DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro if you shoot in water, cold, or motion, want a front screen and swappable batteries, and would rather spend less. Neither replaces the other; the sensor versus the housing is the whole decision.
Where to buy
DJI Osmo Pocket 4
Best for Low-light and indoor creators who want the best image and don't need waterproofing
DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro
Best for Action, water and cold-weather shooters who need durability, a front screen and spare batteries
FAQ
Is the DJI Osmo Pocket 4 waterproof?
No. DJI states no waterproof rating for the bare camera and lists no waterproof housing for it, so it should not be submerged. The Osmo Action 5 Pro is rated to 20 m bare and 60 m in DJI's case.
Which one has a better camera, the Osmo Pocket 4 or the Osmo Action 5 Pro?
The Osmo Pocket 4, on paper: a 1-inch sensor at f/2 versus 0.77 inches at f/2.8, plus a higher 180 Mbps bitrate. The Action 5 Pro's advantage is its much wider 155° lens, not light gathering.
Can I replace the battery in the DJI Osmo Pocket 4?
No. Its battery is internal and not stated as user-swappable, so you charge the camera instead of carrying spares. The Osmo Action 5 Pro uses removable batteries.
Does the Osmo Pocket 4 record HDR video?
No. DJI lists no HLG or HDR10 video mode for it. The Osmo Action 5 Pro does record HDR through the HLG profile.
Which has more built-in storage?
The Osmo Pocket 4, with 107 GB against 47 GB on the Osmo Action 5 Pro. Both accept microSD cards up to 1,024 GB, so the difference only matters before you add a card.
Spotted something wrong? Tap the next to any section or spec group to let us know. Every report is read.





